Manik Saha takes oath as Tripura’s new CM; Biplab Deb attends ceremony

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president Manik Saha on Sunday (May 15, 2022) took oath as the new chief minister of Tripura. He was administered the oath by Governor SN Arya at the Raj Bhavan in Agartala.

Former Chief Minister Biplab Deb, whose sudden resignation on Saturday evening got Saha the top job, was present at the ceremony along with BJP MLAs and state ministers.

Union minister Pratima Bhowmick also attended the swearing-in program.

Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma and minister Ram Prasad Paul, who broke chairs during the BJP’s legislative party meeting on Saturday protesting Saha’s appointment as the chief minister, arrived at the Raj Bhavan moments after the swearing-in ceremony ended.

The opposition CPI(M) MLAs, however, boycotted the event, alleging “fascist-style violence” in the state under the BJP’s rule.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.